The Colorado Small Estate Affidavit is a legal form completed by the heirs of an estate when a family member has passed away with or without a will. Find out below how to write a free Colorado Small Estate Affidavit form, the time limits involved in the process and if you need to file the affidavit in the local superior court.
A Colorado small estate affidavit form can be applied instead of probate in situations where the decedent has a limited amount of assets. To qualify in Colorado, the estate in question must be valued below $66,000 and consist only of personal property.
Colorado Small Estate Affidavit Requirements
- The decedent must be a resident of the State of Colorado.
- Falls under Colorado Revised Statutes section 15-12-1201 Form JDF999 – Collection of personal property by affidavit form.
- The estate in question must be valued at less than $66,000.
- Used only for collection of personal property.
How to Write a Colorado Small Estate Affidavit Form
First, start by entering the date and county on the first line of the affidavit. Next, list the names of the successors and then the name of the decedent. Then, list all the personal property assets of the decedent to be included in the small estate affidavit.
Lastly, the affidavit must be signed and dated by all successors in the presence of a notary and two disinterested witnesses. Once completed, the affidavit does not have to be filed with the local superior court, instead the Colorado Small Estate Affidavit can be presented to any person or institution that is indebted or in possession of the decedent’s personal property for the collection of said personal property.
Free Colorado Small Estate Affidavit Form
At least ten days must have passed since the decedent passed away, a copy of the death certificate must be attached and the form must be signed and sealed in the presence of a notary to validate the affidavit.
Fill out and print a free Colorado Small Estate Affidavit online.