An Alaska Small Estate Affidavit is a legal document completed by the heirs of an estate when a family member has passed away with personal property valued at less than $50,000 and less than $100,000 in vehicles. Learn how to write a free Alaska Small Estate Affidavit form, the time limits involved and where to file the affidavit with the local probate court.
An Alaska small estate affidavit form is used when the decedent has a limited amount of assets. To qualify in Alaska, the estate in question must be valued below the limits set by the Alaskan legislature for administration of a small estate.
Alaska Small Estate Affidavit Requirements
- The decedent must be a resident of the State of Alaska.
- Falls under Alaska Statute Sec. 13.16.680 Collection of personal property by affidavit.
- Personal property cannot excede $50,000 and vehicles must be valued at less than $100,000.
- Must be filed in the probate court where the estate of the person who passed away is located.
How to Write an Alaska Small Estate Affidavit Form
An Alaska small estate affidavit is also called Form P-110 – Affidavit for Collection of Personal Property of Decedent. It is completed by the heirs of a decedent whereby the decedent’s personal property is valued at less than $50,000 and vehicles are valued at less than $100,000.
First, fill in the name of the decedent, the date the decedent passed away and the basis of the successor’s claim to the estate. And then, sign and date the affidavit in the presence of a notary and two witnesses. You must wait at least thirty days after the decedent has passed to use the Alaska small estate affidavit form.
Free Alaska Small Estate Affidavit Form
Once thirty days have passed, the Alaska small estate affidavit form may be filed in the local probate court where the decedent passed along with a copy of the death certificate.
Fill out and print a free Alaska Small Estate Affidavit online.